Subscribe to The OSI Events mailing list.

Please RSVP here for the Human Habitation of Space discussion forum on March 13th, 2019 (to estimate attendance). Details below.

Human Habitation of Space: March 13th and 15th, 2019

Astronaut Dr. Serena Aunon-Chancellor
Dr. Serena Auñón-Chancellor

It is with great pleasure that we welcome NASA astronaut Dr. Serena Auñón-Chancellor (recently returned to Earth from the ISS) and radiation physicist Dr. Jeffrey Chancellor to take part in two free public events.

At 7 p.m. on March 13th, we will have a moderated public forum at UBC to discuss the medical challenges of human habitation in space. On March 15th, a second public event will take place at the Salt Spring Forum.

The discussion forum at UBC will be held in Earth Sciences Building room 1013 (follow the link for address and directions).

The event is jointly sponsored by The OSI, The Salt Spring Forum, and The UBC Department of Physics and Astronomy. We thank the Peter Wall Institute for Advanced Studies and the RASC-Vancouver for additional support.

Space Debris Day: February 10th, 2019

Thank you to everyone who participated and made the event a major success.

On February 10th, 2009, the satellites Cosmos-2251 Iridium-33 collided, generating thousands of trackable pieces of debris. The event is a reminder of what could happen to our satellite population if we allow space junk to continue to accumulate.

In observance of the 10-year anniversary of the collision, the H. R. MacMillan Space Science Centre and the Flandrau Space Center jointly held the first Space Debris Day. Both locations showed the movie Space Junk and engaged the public with discussion panels from academia and industry.

The 2018 Conference

NASA: Artist impression of the SLS Launch, bound for Mars (dhitt)
NASA: Artist's impression of the SLS Launch, bound for Mars (dhitt)

Thank you to everyone who participated and made the event a major success.

How can we develop space without preventing future generations from continuing with their own development?

We are pleased to introduce the The Outer Space Institute, a highly interdisciplinary and international institute dedicated to space studies. The institute is a hub for subject matter experts in space, spanning a wide range of fields and producing interdisciplinary research in ways that have not been possible within the limited sights of specializations. In particular, the institute brings together perspectives from planetary scientists, political scientists, technologists, sociologists, international law experts, medical researchers, and policy and business advocates.

This November 16th, a team of international experts will convene to address two immediate near-term challenges in the sustainable development of space: space mining and orbital debris. The conference will include an open half-day discussion and Q&A on the topics of asteroid mining, space debris, space colonization, and Canadian space policy.

Following the public event, there will be a closed-door meeting to help shape the initial direction of the institute.

If you would like to attend the free public event, we kindly request that you RSVP here (no longer active link because the event has ended).

Schedule, November 16th at East Sage

  • 11:00 AM - 12:15 AM. Space Debris
    David Kendall (former Chair of the UN Committee on the Peaceful Uses of Outer Space)
    Moriba K. Jah (University of Texas, Austin)
    James Clay Moltz (US Naval Postgraduate School)
    Jennifer Busler (MDA/Maxar)
  • 12:15 PM - 1:00 PM: Lunch
  • 1:00 PM - 2:15 PM: Space Mining
    Aaron Boley (UBC)
    Sara Russell (Natural History Museum, London, UK -- by Skype)
    Timiebi Aganaba-Jeanty (Arizona State University)
    Catherine Johnson (UBC)
  • 2:15 PM - 3:30 PM: Space Colonization
    Michael Byers (UBC)
    Tanya Harrison (Arizona State University)
    Jeffery C. Chancellor (Texas A&M University)
    David Beers (UBC)
  • 3:30 PM - 3:45 PM: Coffee/Tea
  • 3:45 PM - 5:00 PM: Canadian Space Policy
    Ryder McKeown (University of Toronto and the DND)
    Mac Evans (former President of the Canadian Space Agency)
    Marie Lucy Stojak (Chair of the Space Advisory Board -- by Skype)
    Paul Meyer (SFU, former Canadian ambassador for disarmament)